Four Area High School Graduates Receive the Sergeant Terrence Carraway Memorial Scholarship

Chief Allen Heidler of the Florence Police Department and Allison Carraway of the Terrence F. Caraway Foundation awarded four area high school graduates with the Sergeant Terrence Carraway Memorial scholarship during a small ceremony in the City Council Chambers on June 23, 2022. The 2022 recipients of the scholarship are Brittany Beauford of Lamar high school, Katelynn Culper of South Florence high school, Kanye’ Dixon of Wilson high school, and Trinity Harrell of Darlington high school. The graduates each received $1,000 to go toward higher education expenses. The recipients shared their poignant reflections on their family’s impact on their worldview.
Brittany Beauford will attend Columbia College and major in speech pathology. Katelynn Culper is majoring in Forensics at Francis Marion University. Kanye’ Dixon will attend Claflin University and major in business and finance. Trinity Harrell is majoring in Forensics at Francis Marion University.
Established in January 2019, this need-based scholarship honors the life and work of Sergeant Terrence Carraway, whose watch ended October 3, 2018. The collaboration between Terrence F. Carraway Foundation and Florence Police Department is a commitment to continuing Terrence's passion for assisting the youth in the Florence and Darlington areas to have a brighter future.
The scholarship recipients were selected from applicants from school districts in Florence and Darlington Counties, or a comprehensive review of their application high school transcripts, SAT/ACT scores, and a 500-word essay. Information regarding this scholarship is provided each year to all of the Florence and Darlington school district guidance counselors.